The last years
Grand Duke Ludwig's great projects in the 1600's became the last major extensions of the Burg. After him all Dukes neglected the Castle,
and even though the Burg escaped the Great Fire of 1734, some parts of it was torn down.
In 1797 the Royal family moved the court to the newbuilt Schloss Weizdgerbak outside the City.
In the early 1800's the Palace Gardens were destroyed, creating much needed space for new houses. The old bridge to Panardo Inszel
fell into the river in 1802, and a new bridge was built West of the Cathedral.
Between 1799 and 1837 the Burg served as a Prison.